RSS Feed

Check Your Attitude

Check Your Attitude

“For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.” (Prov. 23:7)

I have really wanted to have a bad attitude these last couple days. To me, my circumstances justified my feelings. I had a baby who had been waking up prior to 5am for the past two days. I was tired. The house was a mess. The laundry wasn’t done. I was tired. I had to go teach my group cycling class and act like I wanted to be there. I wanted needed a nap. We were having company over for dinner. Did I mention the house was a mess AND I was tired. I felt overwhelmed. My mind, in a fog of exhaustion, just couldn’t sort things out and I was mad. I just wanted to crawl back in bed and be crabby. I wanted someone to feel sorry for me. Sure, this is nothing compared to what others may be going thorough, but for me it was like WWIII.

Well, crawling back in bed wasn’t an option. I thought about calling in and canceling my class, but I can’t call in a cancel being a mom, so I just decided to suck it up. As I drove to drop of Baby E at my in-laws I felt God say that I can’t let my feelings dictate my attitude. I can’t let my circumstances steal my joy. It was like a punch to my gut…and totally 100% true. I continued to listen to God as he reminded me of two powerful scriptures:

Philippians 4:13 {The Message}
“Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.”

Isaiah 30:28{NLT}
31 But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint.

I felt like I couldn’t let my circumstances determine how I feel. God doesn’t give me anything I can’t handle. He is ALWAYS with me and will not let me get weak or weary, and if I am He will lift me up and get me through. The only thing that letting my feelings and my circumstances determine my attitude does is make me not very much fun to be around. It also makes my day pretty crummy.

As soon as I changed my mindset my day got better. The burden of my circumstances were lifted as soon as I started teaching my cycling class and I ended up having a pretty awesome day!

What do you do when your circumstances are out to steal your joy?

XOXO,
Kristie

7 responses »

  1. Josh and I are learning so much of this! We CAN control our attitude and how we perceive things. Everyday we have a choice… to make it a good day and see the positive or have a bad day and only focus on the negative. It makes a such difference when we make the prior choice!

    Reply
  2. I need to print those two verses and have them placed VERY prominently around my house some days!!

    Reply
  3. Thanks Kristie! There are definite times I need to be reminded of this. Sunday was one of them. I wished I had read this before then. Sorry we couldn’t make it to Denver on Sunday. Hopefully, we can meet up another time.

    Reply
  4. I have a 10 week old that I am blessed to be able to stay home with but can be stressful and tiring! This was a great pick me up. Thank you!

    Reply
    • Um…I ❤ your blog! I was a competitive and collegiate cheerleader too that got into fitness! I often tell people being a SAHM is the hardest job I have EVER had!! As they get older it gets better and harder in different ways!!!! Can't wait to keep reading your great posts!!!

      Reply
  5. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this website regularly, this website
    is truly nice and the visitors are genuinely sharing nice thoughts.

    Reply
  6. Frank realizes that he would have been much better if he had actually relocated with the Cheese a lot sooner
    in his life. Angela keeps in mind that Haw discovered to
    laugh at his concern and so got to the New Cheese. Richard realizes
    that not only his company requires to change: he needs to alter
    his behavior as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

